Young at heART

Young at heART collaborative artwork with my nieces.  I started Loving Rd blog and art in memory of my mom, their Grammie, to carry on her love for others, nature, and life.  I chose to use a general name instead of my own name for the efforts because I hoped that others might contribute as well.  I’m grateful to now be sharing art that was made in a collaborative, playful time with my nieces.  The 2 youngest took all of our collaborative finger painted pieces home with them.

20150515_210643 20150516_213645

The piece I worked on with my eldest niece, Hailey, seems to embody the essence and energy of being young at heART to me.  I hope you enjoy.

20150515_211649 IMG_2547

Hailey finger painted the first layer and added a sun that she, disappointingly, said looked like a turtle. She decided that she didn’t want this piece of art when taking her other creations home with her after our weekend together.  Though I sincerely loved it just the way she made it, I told her that I would love to add to it and make it a special piece that we created together.  I tried to keep her finger prints through translucent layers of paint to feature her unique touch.  I recall when I was just a little older than her (she’s 9) that I began to get discouraged with my artistic efforts, feeling that they weren’t ‘good enough’ or ‘realistic’.  No one ever told me that art often goes through a sort of ugly phase as it evolves so I often gave up right about then.  Nor did I learn to embrace the idea of happy accidents, such as this sun looking more like a turtle (I love turtles!), until very recently.  I hope that my efforts to highlight Hailey’s vision of both the sunshine and the turtle that she started will encourage and inspire her to find the beauty in the unexpected and to trust her own sacred heART.

20150518_174013 20150518_173946 20150518_173927

I’ll be framing this one for our home so when she comes back to visit she can see how special it is to me.  We used some fun glitter paint that makes the original extra sparkly and special.

IMG_20150519_103646

I’ve also made it available as prints (and a few more practical items) in the Loving Rd society6 and redbubble shops.  I hope she’ll realize that I see value and worth and beauty in this fun and youthful creation!  I just ordered one of the items with this art for her. 🙂

turtlesacredheartweb copy

I hope that you find ways to connect with the young at heart (children in your life and the child in your self!) and that we may all have the courage to trust our own sacred hearts. ❤

About thrivetrue

Thrivivalist * Artist * Author * Facilitator * Mother
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Young at heART

  1. The turtle is a spectacular collaborative work of art and it even more special as a product of bonding through art. My children and I draw and work on art projects together all the time but side by side rather than collaborating. You have inspired me to think about working together with them on some pieces. Perhaps I shall do the same thing and have them start a piece that I then finish and vice versa. Thank you to you and your nieces for the inspiration.

  2. lovingrd says:

    You’re so very welcome! Enjoy 🙂

  3. Oh I love the sunshine & the message of your blog today, creating precious memories with your nieces! I do similar with my family members too.☀️

  4. Looks like you all had fun! Love the turtle painting!

Leave a comment